Located in Ilorin, Kwara state, the university was established by a decree of the Federal military government of Nigeria in 1975. With a student population of 30,000, the University of Ilorin has 15 faculties, with over 60 departments.

They offer both undergraduate and postgraduate programs in specialized fields such as; Arts, Agriculture, Environmental Sciences, Life Sciences, Management Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences, Communication and Information Sciences, Education, Engineering and Technology, Pharmaceutical Science, Veterinary Medicine, and Law.