This university was founded in Ile-Ife, in the year 1961 as the University of Ife, and renamed in 1987, as honor to the late Chief Obafemi Awolowo.

The university has thirteen faculties which offer both undergraduate and postgraduate programs in specialized fields such as; humanities, the arts, the natural sciences, the social sciences, the medical sciences, engineering and technology.